Such mixed up emotions

So as ive mentioned previously i’ve known Sarah for 4 years and we’ve applied together twice and been able to support each other every step of the way. However I knew it was going to come to this moment sooner or later because it was very unlikely that we’d be offered the same date as we both had slightly different preferences (her first choice was merch mine is F&B.)

So after coming down from a high brought about by our Manchester trip I was back to work on the 26th. We both work in the operations department of a theme park, Sarah operates the rides and im an operations team leader so i can operate rides but im also at the end of a radio just in case anyone needs me for anything. So we were at work and I heard a message across the radio asking if anybody knew Sarah’s location. At this moment i could see her across the fairground from me so i radio’ed back and was told to bring her up to the main office because her mum had been trying to get in touch with her. I pretty much ran across the fairground grabbed her and we excitedly headed up to the main office.
Her mum let her know that Yummy Jobs had rung her house phone trying to get hold of her. So we all got really excited in the main office and i looked up the number for Sarah. Whilst she was doing this she kept saying “Maybe he’s ringing me to let me know that they dont need me anymore!” I told her to stop talking stupid and they’d be offering her a date! When she got through on the phone we only had one side of Sarah’s conversation but it soon became apparent that it was excellent news and she was excitedly chatting away to James. At this point i nipped into my friends office up in the same office and said mostly in jest ‘Im over the bleeding moon for her but wheres my flipping phonecall?!’ He laughed and i went back into the main office to see Sarah. When she came off the phone and told me she’d been offered a date starting the 3rd September i gave her the biggest hug!
We headed back to our operations office so she could use my phone to ring her boyfriend and let people know what was going on! When we got there it was all exciting but then somebody made a stupid comment about Sarah being better than me and did that mean i wasnt getting a job. Now any other time i would know this person was just making a stupid sniping remark and i would have answered with ‘ACTUALLY NO YOU STUPID PERSON – Theres more than one job available and i could get a phonecall any time!’ But my emotions were running high and i had to get out of the office, so i went and hid in the back of our birds of prey centre where i was chatting to some of the animals and then when some of the birds of prey staff spotted me i told them what was going on and they were so caring and lovely! they really made me feel better!

As I said, my emotions were high to begin with but when i thought things through i realised this position was perfectly suited to Sarah. It was merchandise which was her first choice. Ideally 5.5 weeks would have been very short notice for me and it would be tight to fund it and also it was only a 9/10 month offer as she was replacing somebody who had left under whatever circumstances. Although i know for sure I wouldnt have said no to the offer if James had called me. But ideally I would want a F&B position, with a bit more notice and the full year length!

But am I over the moon for her and can’t wait to visit her even if i’m not successful!

Leave a comment